This is the beginning of what I hope will be an ongoing blog about what goes on in my kitchen. I’ve been reading (and drooling over) a variety of vegan and vegetarian food blogs since 2005 or so, and while my photography skills are somewhat lacking, I am completely capable of taking a snapshot of a sandwich and writing about it at length.

I am a woman in my twenties. I live with a roommate whose life is run by his sense of wanderlust and an extraordinarily stupid (yet lovable) cat. I have been a vegetarian since 2002, and for a few years in there I was a vegan. I went back to being an ovo-lacto vegetarian for personal reasons, but I may return to the vegan fold someday. I have been cooking for about four years. There are no cookbooks on my shelf, vegetarian or otherwise, but there are a few back issues of magazines like Gourmet, Vegetarian Times, Cook’s Illustrated, and Food + Wine. I cook mostly with fresh vegetables and fruits, whole grains and whole grain pastas, and a variety of cheeses, although lately I’ve been eating a disproportionate amount of Morningstar products.

These are mostly very simple dishes without any “recipes” involved per se. I moved recently and don’t have all of my kitchen appliances unpacked, and my cupboards are not as well-stocked as I would like.

First up is a couscous salad. Couscous with onions and peas, dressed with a mix of sour cream, Cholula hot sauce, and smoked tomato dressing, over a bed of spring greens. On top are diced tomatoes, feta cheese, and some more of the smoked tomato dressing. On the side is a glass of chocolate almond milk.

 

Next is a wrap and a salad. The wrap filling was sauteed portobella mushrooms, baby bella mushrooms, garlic, red onion, and boiled red potatoes. I spread some mayonnaise and some Cholula on a whole wheat tortilla and topped the filling with feta cheese. The side salad was a base of spring greens, shredded carrot, diced tomatoes, avocado, and smoked tomato dressing.

 

I had a fair amount of wrap filling leftover, so the next day I ate it straight-up as part of my post-class brunch. Accompanying the mushrooms and potatoes are scrambled eggs with diced green tomatoes and jalapenos topped with cheddar, diced jazz apples, and a slice of double fiber toast spread with Smart Balance and Irish whiskey marmalade. I love my sectional plates, it makes every meal feel like an elementary school cafeteria.

 

I have a virus which might be a mild case of swine flu, so I might not be up to anything culinarily exciting, but I do have a lot of pictures from the past couple of weeks saved up. Either way, more will be forthcoming.

