Not an exciting entry for me today in the Veganmofo world.

I had planned to make oatmeal bread in my bread machine today, but I didn’t get around to it. Midterm exams are next week and today was a whirl of class reviews and the handing out of assignments. I had a pumpkin muffin and coffee for breakfast followed by no lunch, so I made an early and simple dinner.

On the Vegan Lunchbox blog, Jennifer McCann made a pasta dish for her son several times featuring rotini, lima beans, and rosemary, which always sounded delicious to me, and I paid tribute to it tonight since all of those ingredients were in my fridge. Friendboy and I had rotini with lima beans, rosemary, grape tomatoes, and olive oil alongside brussels sprouts and red onions marinated in horseradish. The pasta was tasty, but the real point of the meal for me were the sprouts. This is my absolute favorite way to eat my favorite vegetable.

 

Brussels Sprouts with Horseradish
1/2 lb of brussels sprouts, trimmed and halved
1/4 of a large red onion, sliced
1 TBSP shredded horseradish (I use horseradish in beet juice, which gives it a lovely purple color)
2 TBSP olive oil
1/2 cup or so apple cider vinegar
1 tsp kosher salt
slightly more than 1 tsp crushed red pepper
slightly more than 1 tsp garlic powder
cracked black pepper to taste
Combine all ingredients in a nonreactive bowl, with enough vinegar to cover the sprouts at least halfway. Let marinate in the refrigerator for 45 minutes to an hour, stirring periodically to make sure sprouts are coated evenly. Heat a small amount of olive oil in a pan over medium heat. Drain the sprouts and onions, reserving the marinating liquid. Add sprouts to the pan with a tablespoon or so of the marinade. When this has reduced, add another tablespoon. Repeat for three or four tablespoons. Serve hot.

